Welcome to the Question2Answer Q&A. There's also a demo if you just want to try it out.

Update Plugin: Delete My Account (V1.1.1)

+11 votes
881 views
asked Feb 2, 2015 in Plugins by sama55
edited Feb 20, 2015 by sama55

Feature

Add "Delete my account" button in account page.

View

Compatibility

Q2A V1.6, V1.7

Development history

  • 2015/02/20 [V1.1.1]: Add Japanese language
  • 2015/02/03 [V1.1]: Add Terms & Condition checkbox in case of V1.7 later
  • 2015/02/02 [V1.0]: First release

Download

My addons are here.

Have fun!

commented Feb 2, 2015 by Gurjyot Singh
Thumbs up to this one sama55... :)
commented Feb 2, 2015 by Ami
Good one @sama55 . +1

2 Answers

+4 votes
answered Feb 2, 2015 by gunrose
Great! +1!! (:-)

In the end, you are using the function qa_db_user_delete (in db/users.php) that deletes everything the user has done, but the messages he sent. How about if this is an important user with very important posts? Could make any sense to remove only his name and email and other personal data to create a fake user in his/her place? Does anyone knows how stackoverflow works? Maybe this could be stressed in "Terms of service" before. WHat should be the sensible data to be removed in this case?
commented Feb 2, 2015 by sama55
Your question is very good. I was also worried about it. This plugin is doing same things with "Delete" in user profile page by admin. To be precise, this plugin is using qa_delete_user(app/users-edit.php)  core function in application layer. Not qa_db_user_delete (in db/users.php).

function qa_delete_user($userid)
/*
Delete $userid and all their votes and flags. Their posts will become anonymous.
Handles recalculations of votes and flags for posts this user has affected.
*/
{
   ...

Vote and flags are deleted, but posts will not be deleted. These will remain as anonymous posts. In the future, if specification of this function is changed, the process of this plugin also will change automatically.

In addition, I did not add button for hiding own posts in user profile page. It is because, this button is mainly used for spam. And, when a part of the conversation will be deleted, conversation becomes strange.
commented Feb 3, 2015 by gunrose
I really appreciate your reply!
+3 votes
answered Feb 2, 2015 by sama55
edited Feb 2, 2015 by sama55
Plugin is updated. I added "Terms and Condition" checkbox. This will be displayed only V1.7 later. Refer to my updated question.
commented Sep 4, 2016 by Filoc
Sorry for bringing this dead thread alive, but is this going to be available again?
...